top of page

72 holes, no clubs thrown

When I was a younger man, my temper often erupted on golf courses.

Famously, there was that time - frustrated by missing a 3-foot putt - I took out my frustration by picking up the pin and throwing it like a javelin. Unfortunately, it ended up in a tree. Even more unfortunately, it was stuck on a branch too high for me to reach.

My playing partners, my brother Tommy and our friend Pat Cook, had no idea what was going on. The group behind us did, however, due to the fact that the par 4 was considerably downhill.

One of the men began screaming at me. My brother thought he was talking to him. Words were exchanged. Threats were made. Minutes later, I finally was able to retrieve the pin and return it to the hole.

Embarrassed, I almost sprinted to the next tee and hit my tee shot without a practice swing. I'm proud to report that happened about 30 years ago. My club-throwing, pin-throwing days are long over.

Golf is a great game if you don't take it too seriously. I recently joined seven family members for a weekend at White Mountains Country Club in Ashland, N.H. Playing 72 holes over three days, I hit plenty of terrible shots and three-putted too many greens to count.

Despite playing three straight days in 90-plus degree heat, I only lost my temper once. My score is no longer relevant. I realize no one cares whether I shot a 77 or a 107. The course was great but the company was even better.

I was too busy laughing with Tommy Scanlon, Patrick Scanlon, Ryan Scanlon, Tim Bradley, Danny Bradley, Scott Hogan and Cam Allard to worry about triple bogeys or lost balls. And I walked away with the longest drive award.

There was no award for furthest pin toss. Thankfully, I retired that award 30 years ago at Green Meadow Golf Club in Hudson, N.H.


bottom of page